Welcome to the Professional Driver
Education Association of Massachusetts
Getting Your License
You just turned 16 and are ready
to obtain your learner's permit. This is what you need to know
before planning a trip with your parent or guardian to your local
- You need to study all of
the information in the driver's manual. You may read the manual,
in its entirety, online at the Massachusetts RMV
- You need to bring a
completed License and ID Update application to any full-service
RMV branch. You can find the application online at the
HERE or at the branch.
- If you are under the age of
18, a parent or guardian will need to sign the application.
- You will be required to pay
a $30 written test fee as well as meet the identification
- You will also be required
to pass a vision test or submit a RMV vision-screening
certificate from your medical practitioner.
- Your photo and signature
will be captured electronically on the RMV database
- There is a 20 question
(written/computer based) exam testing your knowledge of
Massachusetts's motor vehicle laws and safe driving practices.
You have 20 minutes to take the test and must answer 14
correctly in order to pass.
- The test is administered on
automated testing stations which are easy to use video screen
For more information on
preparing for and taking the written test, please refer to the
Driver's Manual. If you have a disability and need to request an
accommodation, please bring medical documentation and ask to speak
to the branch manager
Facts about your Permit:
- Your permit is valid for
two (2) years and allows you to practice your driving skills as
you prepare for your road test.
- You must carry your permit
whenever you drive until you earn a Junior Operator's License or
a full driver's license
- You must always be
accompanied by a licensed operator who occupies the passenger
seat next to you. This person must be at least 21 years old and
have a valid license with at least 1 year's driving experience
- If you are under 18, you
may not drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am unless
accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.
- A class D learner's permit
allows you to operate a motor vehicle in another state as long
as it does not violate the laws of that state.
- You may only operate a
For information about Junior Operating
Licenses at the Mass RMV click